Point and Shoot

9 Sep

Much of my inspiration comes from a site called Cool Hunting.  It was started in 2003 as a designer’s personal resource and is now the source of inspiration for not just little old me, but literally throngs of folks – creative folks looking for inspiration and/or folks simply interested in keeping up with the latest trends and innovations in everything from design to technology.  I receive their e-mail daily and usually scan it to see if anything catches my eye.  Trust me, it’s fabulous.

Photo courtesy of Cool Hunting

The other day I was cleaning out my in-box and started browsing some issues that had slipped past my usual routine when I found it.  It was an article about the Polaroid SX-70 Land Camera, and I was immediately flooded with emotion.

Photo courtesy of Cool Hunting

Seeing the image of this camera brought back so many wonderful memories from my childhood.  I was born in 1970, just 2 years before this sleek aluminum and leather beauty.  Though the Polaroid cameras we had when I was growing up in the 70’s and 80’s were relatively inexpensive, made of a cheap plastic, and not nearly as elegant as the one you see here, the moments that were captured in the pictures we took with them are priceless.

When it came time for me to choose a photographer for my 2003 wedding, I went for the traditional wedding photog and chose a very talented but expensive Chicago-area photographer to capture the pre-ceremony, ceremony, and reception in both black-and-white and color.  And she really did an amazing job.  But for some extra fun – and to have something to look at while I was waiting on the proofs – I decided to offer a Polaroid with a basket of film at the reception which took place on a deck overlooking Lake Michigan.  Not quite sure if the idea would catch on or what the result would be, here is just a sampling:

That man in the blue shirt and hat in the picture below, my brother-in-law, was the self-appointed Polaroid photographer.  And I am so very thankful that he took on that task.  I pulled these photos out after I read the article about the SX-70 and, in a way, completely re-lived that wonderful day.

He had no special training, no certificate or college degree and wasn’t paid a hefty fee.  He simply brought a sense of fun and a point-and-shoot mentality to the equation.  Sure the fancy photographer’s pictures are excellent.  They are exactly what I hoped for and, quite frankly, expected for what we paid.  But these instant photos captured, in a spontaneous and somewhat imperfect way the brilliant colors of the dresses and decor, the fun and laid back atmosphere, and the personalities of the people that made that day so special.

