Fall All Over

15 Sep

Bring on Fall with its football, bonfires, wonderfully colorful foliage, and cool(er) temps!  We are SO ready for you!

If you are like most of us do-it-yourself designers, your home decor scheme is similar to everyone else out there – a neutral canvas (generally some shade of white, brown, or gray) with pops of color.  Some choose blue, some choose red, some choose yellow or green, and so on and so on.  In my home, the color scheme (at least in the “finished” rooms) is a light gray, creamy white, and chocolate-brown with accents of light blue.  I’ve always loved brown and gray together, but it feels a little like a “safe bet” to me.  Though the colors go very well together, there isn’t anything that just says “WOW!”.

So to get that “WOW!” factor I’m really wanting, I’m going to add in some gold as I change my home decor over and prepare for fall.  Here are a couple of items that will probably find their way into my shopping cart (e- or otherwise) in a few short weeks.

If you are starting with a neutral landscape, changing your home decor to create that cozy, fall feeling is pretty simple with the addition of a few seasonal accessories.  Textiles like rugs, pillows, and throws as well as candle holders and botanicals are all you need to weave in a ribbon of autumn to your existing home decor.  Courtney and I have put together some color collections that will hopefully inspire you as you take on this task.  Happy Fall!

Plum Lamp: Jonathan Adler, Pillow, Throw: Crate & Barrel, Mirror: Target

Gold Lamp: Crate & Barrel, Pillow, Throw: Target, Mirror: Jonathan Adler

Spice Rug, Lamp: Design Within Reach, Botanicals: Traditions Furniture, Chair: Jonathan Adler

