Eat Pray Love…Travel

4 Oct

I saw the movie Eat Pray Love with some friends a few weeks ago.  The story, and memoir of the author, Elizabeth Gilbert, chronicles Gilbert’s struggle to re-discover herself as she travels to Italy, India, and Indonesia after suffering a painful divorce.  Though reviews of the movie have been all over the board, there are several parts of her story that resonate with me.  More than anything, though, I walked out of the theater feeling inspired; inspired by the authentic and colorful food, the amazingly beautiful scenery, and the very sweet and genuine characters she met while on her journey of self discovery.

She ended her year of travel in Bali.  Those particular scenes in the movie were breathtaking, offering up a literal feast for my eyes.  So when I opened my Jetsetter e-mail the other day and saw the Alila Villas Soori in Bali on sale, I knew I had to open it up and take a peek.  The resort itself sits on a long stretch of black sand beach overlooking the Indian Ocean, every villa has a private pool, and the staff is known for its personal service.

I think there is a really good chance that I could re-discover myself here.  Who’s with me?

credits:  photos courtesy of the Alila Villas Soori resort via Jetsetter.

